QIAGEN announces winners of 2018 Microbiome Awards competition

Posted by: | October 22, 2023 | Comments

Two extraordinary young scientists honored with prizes and more than $100,000 in support for research into the impacts of microbial communities on human health

Hilden, Germany, and Germantown, Maryland, October 17, 2023 – QIAGEN today announced the winners of its fifth annual 2018 Microbiome Awards, a competition for outstanding researchers working on diverse aspects of the microbiome. The prize package totals more than $100,000. This year’s­ winner in the Ph.D. Scientist category is Dr. Hannah Wardill of The University of Adelaide, Australia, and The University Medical Centre Groningen, the Netherlands. In the Ph.D. Student category the winner is Marsha Wibowo of Harvard Medical School, who will carry out her project at Harvard’s Joslin Diabetes Center.

“Studies of the microbiome hold great promise for providing insights that lead to novel strategies for prevention and treatment of disease. As the global leader in Sample to Insight solutions for molecular testing, QIAGEN sponsors this competition with high-level, independent judging to encourage researchers in some of the most innovative explorations of how microbial communities influence our environment and health,” said Dr. Thomas Schweins, Senior Vice President, Life Science Business Area, for QIAGEN. “We are pleased to honor these two outstanding young scientists and provide support for their research. The Microbiome Awards are the largest research awards program focusing on this important field.”

Read more at: Qiagen

Stay up-to-date!
Email Address *
First Name
Last Name

* indicates required
Privacy Policy

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | © 2018 The Translational Microbiome Research Forum